DUI

The State of Illinois leads the nation in cracking down on drunk drivers.

A DUI conviction will automatically cause your driver’s license to be revoked, and depending on your criminal and driving history, you could be faced with car forfeiture and prison time. Even worse, a DUI is one of the most difficult criminal cases to defend, because it is typically based on an officer’s direct observation, bolstered in many cases by so-called “objective” chemical testing.

Most people do not realize that as of January, 2006, if you are caught driving drunk, and you do not have a license or insurance, then you will be charged with a felony. This affects many of our Polish clients.

If you receive a DUI in the State of Illinois under the implied consent laws you are subject to a Statutory Summary Suspension. For your first DUI offense you will receive a 6 to 12 month suspension if you submit to chemical testing but if you refuse chemical testing you will receive a 12 to 36 month suspension. If you receive a DUI in the State of Illinois you are advised to consult a Chicago DUI Lawyer. For you first DUI offense you may be eligible for a (MDDP) Monitoring Device Driving Permit. A MDDP will allow you operate your vehicle and drive wherever you require. You must install a BAIID (Blood Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device) into your automobile and pay a rental fee for that device. If there are proper grounds you should file a Petition to Rescind Statutory Summary Suspension.